Family Fun Weekend

Posted on

Hi everyone and happy Monday! Today is (thankfully) cruising right on by…Monday’s are busy to begin with since it’s payroll day, but I also had a fire evacuation training to attend since I’m the floor warden for our company. The instructors made it interactive and enjoyable for us and the 2 hours flew right by…we have a practice fire drill tomorrow so we’ll see how I do πŸ˜‰

We had a hot hot hot weekend and is it just me or did it fly right by?! I have to admit I was pretty bummed yesterday when I realized it was already Sunday and that the start of the work week was inching closer and closer…but I have a feeling this week will go by fast since my boss will be out of town Thursday and Friday and I already got fun lunch plans scheduled for those days, yay! And Saturday is going to be a fun sister day filled with pedi’s and fro yo with plans that night to go out to a wine bar with our S.O.’s – so I have that to look forward to which I’m pretty excited about πŸ™‚

But before I get all crazy excited about this weekend, let’s talk about the one that just happened!

Friday morning I awoke at our usual wake up time 4:15am, came downstairs, and was confused as to why our coffee pot didn’t go off. I thought maybe I had set the alarm on it wrong so when I tried to turn it on manually and it didn’t start working, I had a bit of a freak out moment wondering what to do at 4:30 in the morning without coffee! Thankfully, by the grace of god, we had instant packets of coffee on hand and all was right in the universe…but I can’t go without a nice fresh pot of coffee for very long so during my lunch break that day I went to the mecca of appliance stores…

And got this beauty…

Love love it! I love the vintage styling of it and it’s so easy to use…like I’ve said before, it’s the little things in life that make me happy πŸ™‚

****

Saturday was my Uncle’s 70th birthday party so the whole clan (aunts, uncles, cousins, S.O.’s) met up for lunch in Discovery Bay and had a fabulous time together. My love for babies magnified by 1 million while cuddling with this beauty…

I spy Bradley Cooper hubby in the background πŸ˜‰

My uncle and this cutie pie, who afterwards I also could not stop cuddling and playing with, she’s such a cutie!!

And I killed all these beers and massive burger with fries…

Ha ha GOTCHA!! Just kidding! That would be the hubby’s beers and burger…I had the Asian Chicken salad, and a diet coke πŸ˜‰

****

Sunday was spent lazing around and watching some football. We wanted though to get out of the house for a little bit since it was so gorgeous out so we stopped by Fish Market for my favorite dish…

Ceviche!!

Along with some heavenly carbs…

After that we stopped by Whole Foods to pick up some salad and hot bar treats for dinner…and an even bigger treat of Key Lime Tart from their bakery. I was so bummed I didn’t snap a pic but I can assure you it was absolutely delicious and I recommend you trying one sometime πŸ™‚

****

During my spare time I like to go on People.com to catch up on the latest celebrity gossip, and I’d love to get all your opinions on this, is she or isn’t she??!!…

(source)

(source)

If that’s not a baby bump, then I don’t know what is!!!

Questions:
Do you like having fun plans scheduled during the week or weekend to make your work week a bit easier to get through and go by faster?
Do you own a certain coffee pot that you absolutely love?
Do you love to hang out/play with little kids? I always used to feel awkward around them, but now that I’m older and with baby fever, I absolutely love being around kids, cuddling and playing with them πŸ™‚
Do you think that’s a baby bump on Jessica Simpson?! I do!

17 thoughts on “Family Fun Weekend

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    October 24, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    Of course we would have the exact same coffee maker πŸ˜‰ Ours is black even though we registered for the stainless steel one. It’s a keeper though!

    I love having fun plans during the week (ahem, blogger meet ups!) even if it does make the work week seem a little hectic.

    Of course my weekend flew by — there’s never enough time when you’re having fun πŸ˜›

    And YES JS is sooo preggers. If not, then what the heck is in there?

    So glad you had a faboosh weekend and have more fun plans to come! You deserve it lovely!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 24, 2011 at 4:14 pm

      That’s so awesome we have the same coffee maker! Great minds do think alike…and we definitely have a lot in common girly πŸ˜‰

      Yes please!! Definitely blogger meet ups! Although like you said, it does make for a hectic work week but the break up in it is so nice πŸ™‚

      Haha seriously…if there’s no baby in there then she’s playing a cruel trick on us all!

      Thank you Shanna, you’re the sweetest…and I get wait to hear all about your faboosh baby shower!! ❀

    Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    October 24, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    It looks like you had a fun filled weekend!

    I love love love playing with little kids! I always have so much fun with them and making up games!

    I totally think that Jessica is pregnant! I saw a pic this afternoon and couldn’t believe that bump!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 24, 2011 at 5:32 pm

      Yes making up games is so much fun with the kiddies!

      I couldn’t believe the bump either! At first I thought she may had gained a little, which is totally fine and I’m all about curves and love how she has embraced hers, but that pic *has *to be a baby bump, no question about it! πŸ˜‰

    Laura @ Special Treats said:
    October 24, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    The hubs and I have a Keurig and we LOVE it!!!! It makes the perfect cup of coffee and you can change flavors or even make tea or hot chocolate with it. Love, love, love our keurig!

    I def. love to hang out/play with children. I always have and I look forward to the day when I can play and cuddle with my own. πŸ™‚

    Jessica is sooo preggers!!!!!!!!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 25, 2011 at 11:21 am

      Keurig’s are awesome!! So jealous…maybe I should have gone with that?! πŸ˜‰

      I can’t wait to cuddle and play with my own too….our day will come girly, and it will be the most beautiful moment ever πŸ™‚

      I wish Jessica would release a statement that she’s pregnant b/c I wanna see her in those stylin’ clothes showing off that bump!

    Lauren said:
    October 24, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Jessica is SO preg. What else could it be?

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 25, 2011 at 11:18 am

      She has got to be…either that or she’s got a pillow under there and playing a cruel trick on everyone, lol! πŸ˜‰

    Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries said:
    October 24, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    It looks like you had such a nice weekend!! I love weekends with the fam.
    My hubby and I always like to make plans for at least one exciting thing to look forward to on the weekend whether it’s a date night, inviting friends over, or going on some sort of “adventure”. This weekend I’m looking forward to a date night with him since we haven’t had a lot of time just the two of us lately. It will be so nice!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 25, 2011 at 11:17 am

      Awww I love love date nights!! There simply isn’t anything better..I’m excited for you! πŸ™‚

    loftyappetite said:
    October 25, 2011 at 6:01 am

    What is Ceviche? It looks divine and I can’t believe I’ve never heard of it!!
    Also, I love how Jessica Simpson is keeping her pregnancy a mystery. It’s driving the media nuts! Clearly she’s pregnant!! But I bet because she’s been speculated to be pregnant so much in her life due to weight gain, she’s totally messing with them and ignoring it.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 25, 2011 at 11:16 am

      Ceviche is a combination of raw fish that’s been marinated in lime and/or lemon juices. I’ve had other kinds before and hated it because it was too fishy, but the one at this restaurant is fantastic! It has raw tiger shrimp and there is not a hint of fishyness whatsoever, and it has chopped bell peppers and avocado which makes it so divine! If you like raw fish then you should definitely try it sometime…and the salty chips they serve it with is a definite added bonus πŸ˜‰

      I too wondered why she’s keeping it a secret and making such a big mystery about it, but your reasoning for it totally makes sense…like you said I bet she’s just totally messing with them and doing it on purpose b/c of past speculations!

    e@thisnotedlife said:
    October 25, 2011 at 6:14 am

    yay for a new coffee pot!! We just got a keurig and we love it! From the first photo i would have said J.S. was just packing a few extra pounds but the second one sold me!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 25, 2011 at 11:12 am

      Oooo I love Keurigs! A friend of mine has one and it’s the neatest thing ever!

      I too thought it was a couple extra pounds, but like you said, that second photo totally gave it away! πŸ™‚

    Andrea @ Andrea out loud! said:
    October 25, 2011 at 7:32 am

    oh my gosh, i spent some super quality time at bed bath and beyond this weekend too!
    and i am really hoping she is pregnant (and almost sure she is)
    and i recently just bought a coffee pot too. it was a cheapy $40 one but i love it! haha

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 25, 2011 at 11:11 am

      I really hope she’s pregnant too! πŸ™‚

      And isn’t bed bath & beyond the best?! I could literally spend hours in that store!

    Facing Fear Foods | The Good Life said:
    October 25, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    […] navigation ← Family Fun Weekend Oct 25 […]

Leave a Reply

