Simple and Satisfying

Posted on Updated on

Hi everyone and happy Thursday! Hope you’re all having a lovely day so far πŸ™‚

In regards to Tuesday’s post, I want to say a huge thank you to you all for not only your support, but for sharing your particular fears in regards to food and your own personal experiences. I enjoy reading each and every one of them and learn so much from you all, you all are such amazing, strong, beautiful women. I also related to some fears that were mentioned from some of you, for instance eating outside from your normal routine during the week or your fears of fat. To this day I still struggle with eating out of my “normal eating schedule” during the work week…at first it gives me anxiety but I remind myself that I can’t stay in my little bubble forever. Life is about enjoying the company of others and the simple pleasures of food…I have to remember that food is food, and to not tie it with my emotions. It’s a big part of our culture and society to enjoy food in the company of others…it’s to be celebrated and to be bonded over with either your significant other, coworker, family member, or girlfriend…and the more I remind myself of this, the more I can embrace all types of food situations and to never fear it again πŸ™‚

****

Today I want to share with you all a couple simple and satisfying meals Todd and I have made this past week. One is the pasta dish I made Monday night and had shared the picture with you all on Tuesday’s post.

It’s adapted from Giada’s Farfalle with Turkey Sausage, Peas and Mushrooms. It’s absolutely delicious and super easy to make – a definite winner.

I had made this once before with ground turkey (not ground turkey sausage) and it was good but pretty bland so I wouldn’t do it with that again. This time around I still didn’t use ground turkey sausage, but instead used chicken sausage and it was pretty darn fantastic.

First get your water boiling and ready to cook your pasta…I used Barilla Plus Farfalle Pasta

For the chicken sausages I used Al Fresco Spinach and Feta Chicken Sausages, and slice them up and heat them through until golden brown…

Once browned and heated through, about 8 minutes/4 minutes per side, I removed the chicken sausages from the pan and using the same pan add 2 tbsp. of olive oil and two packages of sliced mushrooms. Salt and pepper the mushrooms and saute for about 5 minutes…

Once that’s done, add a 16 oz. frozen and slightly thawed package of peas and heat through for about 4 minutes…

Then add your chicken sausage back to the pan and heat all together for about 3 minutes…

Then add your cooked pasta to the pan, mix together, and then add 1 heaping cup of shredded/grated parmesan cheese and mix together…

****

In Tuesday’s post I had also mentioned turkey burgers were on the menu for dinner and that’s exactly what we did.

Back to the topic above, I at one time used to fear fats and would only buy fat free meats, cheeses, you name it…and the sight of olive oil or butter used in cooking would leave me with anxiety. Now, bring it on. Love love fats…I have the hubby to thank for that as he taught me not to fear them…they add so much flavor to anything and everything! And nowadays I buy only 90/10 or 93/7 ground turkey or meat, but for some reason Safeway only had 99% fat-free ground turkey so that’s what we used. But you know how bland and dry that is…well Todd’s secret is to add about 1 tbsp. of olive oil to the ground turkey meat while mixing it and it makes the meat absolutely moist and perfect. He also mixed in about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese and Cajun seasoning…the burgers were amazing!

Grilling up…

Finished product…

Turkey burger with tomato, ketchup, and olive oil mayo on Columbo sourdough bread – with a side salad

And dessert was a new staple in this household – sourdough bread with Biscoff spread – yum. Todd and I shared this…

And that’s about it for today! The boss is out of town so I have fun lunch plans with my coworker…don’t you love it when the boss is away?! πŸ˜‰

Hope you’re all having a great day and I’ll see you all back here tomorrow! πŸ™‚

Questions:
What’s a simple and satisfying meal you’ve been making lately?
What’s your favorite pasta dish? I love love Spaghetti Alla Carbonara (with peas!)…I’ll never forget the one Todd got when we were on vacation in San Diego – it.was.amazing. And my mom’s classic homemade meat sauce and spaghetti, simply amazing and delicious. I think both are pretty worthy of being on Food Network’s Best Thing I Ever Ate πŸ˜‰
What’s your current favorite dessert/sweet treat right now?

20 thoughts on “Simple and Satisfying

    Caitlin C. said:
    October 27, 2011 at 11:41 am

    I LOVE spinach/feta chicken sausage! That meal looks awesome, and so do the turkey burgers. Both of those foods are staples in my house!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 27, 2011 at 12:48 pm

      Thanks Caitlin!! Seriously, you can’t go wrong with those staples πŸ˜‰

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    October 27, 2011 at 11:48 am

    It’s so awesome how much you and your hubby cook together! Zach gets home way too late for this hungry beast ;P

    Favorite sweet treat right now? Oh boy! Don’t get me started!!! Candy corn, froyo with mad toppings, scones, TJ’s pumpkin ice cream, Reeses PB cups, Mighty Maple PB…..

    So I’m thinking pedis, froyo, and hanging out for the 11th? Maybe we could even bake?

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 27, 2011 at 12:47 pm

      It is fun…too bad you don’t live closer and you could be our sous chef πŸ˜‰

      I ditto all your sweet treats…yes please, to every.single.one of them!!

      Definitely pedis and froyo, and that would be so fun to bake together, I would love that! Sounds perfect πŸ™‚

    Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries said:
    October 27, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    I love the idea of mixing in cheese to the meat for the turkey burgers! Yum!

    My favorite easy and satisfying meal lately has been baked sweet potatoes with any toppings you like! My favorite toppings are nut butter and a drizzle of maple syrup.

    My favorite pasta dish is penne pasta in a pesto sauce with shrimp and fire roasted tomatoes – yum!

    My favorite dessert/sweet treat… That’s a tough one! I am loving the Dreyer’s Slow Churned Pumpkin Ice Cream I just bought the other day. I also love the pumpkin chocolate chip protein pizookie I featured on my blog the other day! Obviously all things pumpkin these days… πŸ˜‰

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 27, 2011 at 12:44 pm

      Yes try the cheese, makes it super gooey and delicious!

      I’ve been seeing many bloggers do the baked sweet potato thing with a variety of toppings and I gotta try that…especially your version with nut butter and maple syrup, sounds amazing!!

      I love pesto sauce on pasta too…I always forget to try that and get stuck in the marinara rut! And I have got to try your pizookie, yummy! πŸ™‚

    Caitlin @ Vegetarian in the City said:
    October 27, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    i’m glad you came over to the fat loving side πŸ™‚ i can’t imagine a life without full fat cheese and nut butters πŸ™‚

    Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    October 27, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    My favorite pasta dish is probably chicken alfredo. The last time I ate it was almost a year ago (on my honeymoon) and I have no plans to eat it again any time soon. I know how bad it is calorie and fat wise and will only eat it on very very very special occasions and usually if I’m in Mexico. They seriously have the best chicken alfredo in Puerto Vallarta that I’ve ever had. No other resturants compare so I typically steer clear.

    Besides candy corn and candy pumpkins I am loving chocolate mousse I have had a few times sicne becoming pregnant at local spot. It is so light and airy yet so rich with chocolate flavor! Usually my husband and I split one and the way there serve it is super cute too, out of a champagne flute! πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 27, 2011 at 3:46 pm

      Oh gosh yes, chicken alfredo is the absolute best and would get it all the time, and yes that was before I found out how many calories and fat is in it, yikes! But like you said, on special occasions it is so worth it…like I will only have that Spaghetti alla Carbonara at the restaurant in San Diego! πŸ˜‰

      That’s so cute how it’s in a champagne flute, love it! I’m weird about chocolate, like I hate chocolate ice cream, but chocolate mousse is so amazing when it’s done right, and yours definitely sounds like it! πŸ™‚

    chels said:
    October 27, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    Your meals look delish. Honestly I love pasta with ketchup, I know it sounds so strange, but I can put ketchup on everything and pasta is one of my favorite things to add it on.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 27, 2011 at 5:15 pm

      Thanks Chelsea!! πŸ™‚

      Haha I love love ketchup too!! Haven’t tried it on pasta (yet!), but I pretty much love it on anything πŸ˜‰

    lapiattini said:
    October 27, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    That looks good- I love Giada’s meals. I have one of her cookbooks and pretty much everything is really tasty!
    I’m glad you brought up trying to break out of our eating bubbles. I have a breakfast tomorrow with coworkers and I know there will be food that is not “normal” for me. But I’m gonna go for it, *hopefully* with no guilt afterwards.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 28, 2011 at 10:06 am

      I have one of her cookbooks too and got it signed by her at a book signing in San Francisco – she’s an absolute doll in person and so gorgeous – super tiny too!

      I hope your breakfast went well this morning…I bet you did awesome girl and remember that it’s all about enjoying the company of others and to be your wonderful, fabulous self! πŸ™‚

    Lauren said:
    October 27, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    Oh my gosh those burgers look absolutely amazing! I don’t eat red meat so I am always looking for new turkey burger recipes. I also love that you put them on sourdough – by far the best bread in my opinion.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 28, 2011 at 10:03 am

      They tasted amazing too! πŸ˜‰

      Seriously, sourdough bread is the absolute best in my opinion too and really is my favorite kind of bread…I like it even better on the turkey burger than a traditional bun!

    Allison (Allison's Delicious Life) said:
    October 28, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    This looks amazing!!! I think I might make it for dinner, actuallyβ€”it looks that good. As far as fats, I try to avoid the bad ones but I secretly love hot dogs which are filled with them πŸ˜€ Otherwise, I focus on healthy fats that come from things like PEANUT BUTTER. yum!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 28, 2011 at 2:58 pm

      Thanks Allison!! Let me know what you think of the recipe, excited for you to try it! πŸ™‚

      I admit to loving hot dogs too – especially ones at the ball park! And I love love peanut butter too, it’s definitely the best πŸ˜‰

    Joanna B. said:
    October 30, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    I made the exact dinner tonight. I know Giada’s dish is her husband’s fave! such an easy quick yummy dinner!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 31, 2011 at 4:53 pm

      Yes! I loved that it was her hubby’s fav too and when I first heard that I knew I had to make it! πŸ˜‰ It really is so quick and yummy!

Leave a Reply

