Friday Lovin’

Posted on

Happy Friday and Halloween weekend everyone!! I hope you’re all having a great day so far and gearing up for the weekend…I know I am and can’t wait for it to begin! πŸ™‚

Usually once Friday rolls around, the buzz in our office building starts dying down, people start leaving work early to get a head start on their weekend, emails stop trickling in, and my brain starts to turn off…which is why I love my Friday Lovin’ posts – a recap where I get to just tell you all about what I’ve been loving lately – not a bad way to enjoy a Friday πŸ˜‰

* Delicious eats

Yesterday I went out to lunch with a wonderful coworker of mine to BJ’s Brewhouse. I have to admit the calorie counts for these menu items are quite frightening – even salads are in the 1,000 calorie range! So I went with one of my old standbys that deems fairly healthy and above all, super delicious. The Thai Shrimp Lettuce Wraps…

And dinner was another old standby, but is a winner and delicious every time…

Fried egg and turkey sandwich on sourdough bread with a laughing cow cheese spread

Along with some crunch factor…

Cheddar crackers with Sabra Roasted Pine Nut Hummus
Now after looking at my dinner I realized I didn’t have one veggie – told ya my taste buds change once fall/winter rolls around πŸ˜‰

*Maca Powder

Have any of you heard of this?

I’ve been enjoying this in my smoothies ever since a lovely reader of mine (Hi Heather!) told me that Maca is great for fertility and balancing out your hormones, and it worked wonders for her. And Laury from The Fitness Dish shared with me as well that she used it all the time while they were trying to get pregnant. I hope it works jsut as well for me and I’m definitely going to get some recipes from Laury’s blog for more ways to use Maca! Thanks so much ladies!! xoxo

* Fro yo and Pedis

Tomorrow I have a fun filled day planned with my best friend and wonderful, beautiful sister…

We have big plans for lunch, pedicures, and fro yo!! Weeeeeee can’t wait! πŸ™‚

* B Street and Vine

After our girlie day we’re then gonna let the boys come out and play with us and we’re going to the delicious and fun B Street and Vine – a wine bar with the most amazing and delicious bruschetta…

I’ll be sure to take lots of pictures to capture all the fun we’ll have πŸ˜‰

I hope you all have a fabulous weekend and if you’re celebrating Halloween, have fun and be safe out there! πŸ™‚

Questions:
Any fun plans for Halloween? Are you dressing up and if so, as what?!
Have you tried Maca Powder before?
What are you looking forward to most this weekend?

10 thoughts on “Friday Lovin’

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    October 28, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    That sounds like a fabulous weekend my dear! I love your weekend traditions with your sister — um especially the wine part. So jealous. I may he to have a half glass this evening (it’s been one of those days!)

    Oh and love Sabra hummus — so so tasty! I’m dangerous around it πŸ˜‰

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 31, 2011 at 4:41 pm

      Glad you enjoyed that half glass of wine – I am all for that girl!! πŸ˜‰

      And Sabra hummus is so amazing right? Whenever we get the roasted pine nut one I eat all the pine nuts right away before Todd can get any πŸ˜‰

    Lauren said:
    October 28, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    Sounds like a great weekend! Have fun with your sister!

    I am supposed to dress up as a Flapper tomorrow for Halloween – but it is downright cold so I think my plans are gonna change.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 31, 2011 at 4:44 pm

      Thanks Lauren! Darn weather – well I hope you were able to wear your costume – I was a flapper one year and loved it! πŸ™‚

    Amy said:
    October 29, 2011 at 4:20 am

    Awe, you and your sister are gorgeous.
    I’m dressing as pocahantis. We have a party tonight!

    shannon said:
    October 29, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    Yippee!! Saturday fun day is finally here! I love spending time with my most wonderful sissy and bestest friend!! Love our matching pedis and I’m looking forward to the rest of our funday and night!! Love u! Xoxo sissy

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 31, 2011 at 4:43 pm

      You’re the bestest sissy in the whole wide world!!! Love ya and thank you for the bestest day ever – can’t wait to do it again!! πŸ™‚ xoxoxo

    Joanna B. said:
    October 30, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    I take Maca pills. They are holistic pills that are great for your immune system and fertility. My mom is a urologist and she suggests them to her male patients as well. The plant it comes from is from Peru ( I am Peruvian) πŸ™‚ it truly does work wonders!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      October 31, 2011 at 4:55 pm

      That’s so great to know!! Thanks so much Joanna – I hope I have good luck with it and that it works it’s magic on me πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

