Sisterly Love – Weekend Recap Part 1

Posted on Updated on

HAPPY HALLOWEEN EVERYONE!!! πŸ™‚

I hope everyone is having a great start to their Monday so far! Are any of you dressing up?! Todd and I are the Bah Humbug’s of Halloween this year. No pumpkins and no costumes…I know, pretty lame huh? Perhaps next year though we’ll rally and celebrate big πŸ™‚ And can you believe Todd and I in the last eight years we’ve been together we’ve never carved a pumpkin together before?! I can’t even remember when the last time I carved a pumpkin was…probably 1982? Haha just kidding, that’s when I was born, but it definitely was a long long time ago and I hope we can change that in the near future πŸ˜‰

****

So anyway, back to the good stuff…my sis and I had one epic weekend. It’s probably been the best one we’ve had together in a really long time and I’m so happy we got to spend some quality time together. I’m so lucky to not only have such a wonderful, loving sister, but also the bestest friend in the whole entire world – love you sissy! ❀

Since our weekend was so amazing I’m going to split it up into two parts – part 1 being the first half of our day on Saturday – some sisterly love if you will πŸ˜‰

Our day started off at 11am with a pedicure date. We both got the bug to get French on our toes and I absolutely love the look of it…clean, fresh, and super girly…

Once we prettied our toes it was time for lunch at our favorite spot – Fresh Choice – and I started off with the standard salad beast…

And then of course, dessert round #1!

Vanilla frozen yogurt with a cone

Chocolate Mousse with homemade whipped cream

Then it was off to our new frozen yogurt shop obsession – U Love!! Sadly I forgot to take a pic of the yumminess as I was far too excited to eat it – but I did snap a pic of the aftermath…

Peanut butter and cookies ‘n’ cream fro yo with Kit Kat pieces, cheesecake bites, a Nilla Wafer (my all time fav cookie as a child, M&M’s, and chopped peanuts – it was everything we had hoped for πŸ˜‰

Then it was off to run some errands. Or should I say, Xmas came early for this girl πŸ˜‰ My sister is beyond generous and gifted me with some early Xmas treats…I needed a new soap dish since I was using the box my soap came in as my dish (pretty classy huh?), so we headed to Bed Bath & Beyond and found this adorable one…

And I couldn’t leave without this makeup brush holder…

In action…

Is that not so adorable? Love it!

Then it was off to Hillsdale Mall to grab some essentials for my sis at the MAC store. Although before that we couldn’t help but stop by the Macy’s Holiday Lane store which we were surprised to see had opened already.

Side note – Doesn’t it seem like stores are starting the holiday spirit earlier and earlier every year or is it just me?! I do love the festive holiday spirit but then it reminds me of all the shopping I gotta do, yikes!

Anyway, this store has the best selection of holiday ornaments, gifts, knick knacks, etc…and I know awhile back I’ve mentioned here before how penguin obsessed Todd and I are so my amazing sister couldn’t pass up getting these for us…

Penguin Salt and Pepper Shakers!!! Too cute πŸ™‚

Then it was the epic gift of all epic gifts…Todd and I are going to Upstate New York to visit my in-laws the week before Thanksgiving and you know what that means – cold snowy weather – which I’m actually very excited for and absolutely cannot wait to be in the snow!! I haven’t seen the snow in years and I am thrilled to not only be with my in-laws, but to be in the snow. However, you know this California girl has no cold weather gear whatsoever so my wonderfully generous sister got me the best Christmas present ever…

Weeeeeee!!! Are they not the cutest ever? Thank you sissy!!! Love ya! ❀
And I actually got these same ones for her last Christmas so now we have matching Uggs! πŸ˜‰

She’s letting me have them now so I can wear them on my trip! And I know I can’t wear these in the snow or rain, but at least I have boots to keep my tootsies warm being that the only other boots I own are leather or suede and that won’t cut it for my trip. So I’m super excited to now finally have fashionable, comfortable, warm boots to wear with my leggings and skinny jeans – yay!

And that’s where I’m ending part 1 of our epic weekend…I think it’s fitting to finish part 2 tomorrow for the second part of our day when we’re with the boys – gotta devote a whole post to sisterly love πŸ˜‰

Hope you all have a fun and safe Halloween and although we won’t be celebrating with pumpkins and costumes, we at least have these to celebrate with tonight…

Cupcakes!! My coworker made these and brought them in for us to enjoy, yum!
Happy Halloween!!! πŸ™‚

P.S. Jessica Simpson finally broke the big news – yipeeeeee!! Read *here*

Questions:
How are you celebrating Halloween tonight?!
Do you own Ugg Boots? I have always loved Uggs, but the hubby absolutely despises them, until I tried them on for him yesterday and they’re starting to grow on him...he also despised the jeans/leggings tucked into boots trend but now that that’s all I wear every fall/winter season he loves it now – I’m hoping that’s how it’ll be with the Uggs! πŸ˜‰
When was the last time you visited the snow? And for those that live in it, have you witnessed your first snowfall yet?!

24 thoughts on “Sisterly Love – Weekend Recap Part 1

    Lauren said:
    October 31, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    So I barely remembered that today was Halloween – it seems like everyone was celebrating this weekend (except for me, it was too cold). I am in love with my Uggs – I have 3 pairs from when I lived in the mountains and while they are ugly they are just SO comfy.

    Also, I am addicted to fro-yo and I think you are partly to blame since you are always talking about U-Love. I had fro-yo for lunch one day last week πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 1, 2011 at 12:04 pm

      I know it felt weird with Halloween being on a Monday – we should boycott for that holiday to only be allowed on a weekend!

      They’re definitely not the prettiest boot, but gosh are they comfortable…I so cannot wait to do my errands in them this holiday season! πŸ™‚

      Haha I’m happy to know I got you on the fro yo addiction – it’s hard to stop once you start! And fro yo is definitely an acceptable lunch in my book πŸ˜‰

    Sherri said:
    October 31, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    Whoa! I missed seeing my sweeties this weekend. HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 1, 2011 at 12:01 pm

      Love you mom!!! I missed seeing you too…next time for sure!! Love ya! xoxo

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    October 31, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    Kit-kat pieces? Oh yum yum yum! And I too loved Nilla wafers a kid. Why am I not surprised we both loved ’em? πŸ˜‰

    That is so fabulous that you had a great time with your sissy this weekend! My sister and I are not close at all and I’ve always envied relationships like yours. You are a lucky girl!

    As for Uggs, I’m still undecided. I used to *hate* them and my hubby was going to buy them for me for Christmas around 2005. I was glad (at the time) he didn’t, but now that I’m starting to opt for a wee bit more comfort, I’m thinking I may like them. Hmmmm πŸ˜‰

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 1, 2011 at 12:00 pm

      Haha love that we both love the same candies…and I have to take you to U Love sometime, you’d love it!!

      I am pretty lucky to have such a fantastic sister…we have our moments but in the end our relationship is pretty spectacular πŸ™‚

      I used to hate Uggs too! But then when I got them for my sis and tried them on, it was life changing. They are so ridiculously comfortable and warm you forget how ugly they are! I guess that’s the whole appeal to them? And I think you may want a pair once you start running around after your lil bambino πŸ˜‰

    Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries said:
    October 31, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    This sounds like my kinda day – pedicures, salad beasts, froyo, and shopping!! It couldn’t be more perfect. πŸ™‚ I LOVE your new Uggs!! So so cute! I don’t own any, but I do want some. My hubby isn’t a huge fan of them, so that doesn’t help my case! Tonight we’re passing out candy to trick-or-treaters and relaxing!!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 1, 2011 at 12:06 pm

      Seriously, aren’t days like that the best?! πŸ™‚

      Thanks girly! I’m so excited to wear them this season…perhaps a Xmas present for you this season?! Hubby didn’t like them either but changed his mind once I put them on for him…perhaps you could sway yours as well?! πŸ˜‰

    Laury @thefitnessdish said:
    October 31, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    I love those makeuup brush holders and your Uggs! I own 3 pair. The one are from so long ago I never wear them. I also have the crochet and the tall ones. I like yours a lot though!

    Glad you had a fab time. It sounds amazing…I really need a day like that!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 1, 2011 at 12:07 pm

      Thanks girly!! Awww I love loved the crochet ones!! It was those or the button ones…hmmm perhaps next year I’ll get the crochet ones?! πŸ˜‰

      Days like that are the best…I hope you get one soon, I know you certainly deserve it! πŸ™‚

    Sierra @ Posh Meets Pavement said:
    November 1, 2011 at 2:56 am

    This looks like the best day ever. All of my favorite things in 24 hours. I miss Fresh Choice, especially after those photos. I used to get the coupons out of the newspaper and go with my friends. That brush holder is too cute, mine is clear…boring.

    Glad Jess finally fessed up.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 1, 2011 at 12:10 pm

      Thank you Sierra!! πŸ™‚ Isn’t Fresh Choice the best? The dessert selection gets me every time πŸ˜‰

      So glad Jess finally fessed up too – the media frenzy over it was getting to be a bit much!

    loftyappetite said:
    November 1, 2011 at 6:33 am

    ooh I love a good sister day! It also drives me nuts when Christmas comes too early. Why can’t they just wait til the day after thanksgiving like it used to be?? Before Halloween just makes me a grinch… probably because Thanksgiving is probably my favorite holiday. Tho I love christmas too!
    That makeup brush holder is so cute! I have been really struggling trying to figure out how to store my brushes. Right now they get all jumbled up in my makeup drawer and that can’t be sanitary or good for them in there. I need to figure something new out! maybe that’s what i need πŸ˜‰
    Your Uggs are great! Where in upstate NY? I’m an upstate NY girl at heart, it’s where I grew up and will be spending the holidays too. Uggs can be worn in the snow, but you gotta spray them with protector spray so they survive longer!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 1, 2011 at 12:17 pm

      Exactly!! In the past it was *always *the day after Thanksgiving!!! You bring up a good point…perhaps it frustrates me because I love Thanksgiving and want to thoroughly enjoy that before seeing anything having to do with Christmas…I say we enjoy one thing at a time! πŸ˜‰

      Haha I was telling my sis the exact same thing about my makeup brushes – all in my makeup bag and not very sanitary! Love this holder now to keep them clean – I hope you can find one too!

      We’re headed to the Finger Lakes and my in-laws live in a town called Keuka Park – sound familiar? You’re an upstate girl?! Now I know why you’re so awesome πŸ˜‰

      That’s awesome I can wear them in the snow!! But thanks for the warning too – I should buy that spray since I’m sure they make get some snow or rain on them!

    thehealthyapron said:
    November 1, 2011 at 8:50 am

    I’ve never been an UGG boot fan but I DO love how comfy and warm they are! I have yet to buy a pair but I want to soon to keep my toe-sies warm for the winter! ha

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 1, 2011 at 12:19 pm

      I never liked the way they look either but they are so ridiculously comfortable and warm!! And they’ll be perfect to wear during the shopping frenzy of the holiday season – more incentive for you to buy some! πŸ˜‰

    Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    November 1, 2011 at 10:15 am

    The last time I saw snow was over Easter in Montana. We were visiting Keith’s parents and there was still a ton of it. Lucky for Quincy, who is a total snow fan!

    I love Uggs. I only have one pair but love wearing them all winter long! I love how warm they keep my feet! I havne’t broke them out yet, but I can’t wait! My preggo feet are going to love them so much more this year!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 1, 2011 at 10:37 am

      Your preggo feet will be in absolute heaven!! When I tried them on at the store I couldn’t *believe *how comfortable they were – I so cannot wait to wear them too! πŸ™‚

    lapiattini said:
    November 1, 2011 at 11:01 am

    Aww what a nice day. It’s rare that just my sister and I get together. We see each other all the time, but you’ve inspired me to set up some time for just us!
    I do have Uggs, two pairs, and LOVE them. They are wonderful for snowy weather, which we got super early this year in October. I have my brown tall Uggs on today actually!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 1, 2011 at 11:56 am

      Yay for sister time!! That’s awesome you’re going to set some time for it – it’s nice to have those days to really bond and catch up on life together πŸ™‚

      And yay for Uggs! So happy to know they work in snowy weather and that you love them – you got me now so excited to wear mine! πŸ˜‰

    […] navigation ← Sisterly Love – Weekend Recap Part 1 Nov 1 […]

    Friday Lovin’ | The Good Life said:
    November 4, 2011 at 11:03 am

    […] weekend I happily consumed frozen yogurt two days in a row – U Love on Saturday, and Miyo Yogurt on […]

    Karen said:
    November 6, 2011 at 8:49 am

    Love your blog!! Where in upstate NY are you going? I live about an hour outside of NYC and we already had a snowstorm last weekend so I’m sure we will have snow on the ground again by Thanksgiving1

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 8, 2011 at 11:03 am

      Thank you so much Karen!! πŸ™‚

      My in-laws live in Keuka Park, sound familiar? So happy to hear you’ll have more snow in the upcoming weeks!! Can’t wait to see it and be in it – it’s been way too long!

Leave a Reply

