Happy November! And Weekend Recap Part 2

Posted on

Happy first of November everyone!! Can you believe we only have 2 months left until the new year?! Seriously, where does the time go? I feel like this past year went by in warp speed – maybe it’s because I’m in a job I’m happy with and it being my first year here made the time go by fast? I don’t know, but either way time really has been flying by so fast. Not only that, but in this year I’ve battled 2 colds and I’m on my 3rd one right now. Seriously, in my entire lifetime this has never happened to me…I don’t know what’s going on with my immune system but I don’t like it! So, sorry if my posts this week will be on the less wordy side, but I’m not feeling too good and my head is in the clouds and foggy feeling, so blogging this week will be kept on the light side πŸ™‚

I’m happy to hear I’m not the only one who loves their Uggs! I’m super excited to start wearing them during this winter season while running errands since they’re super comfortable and warm. And I’ll finally have happy feet this holiday season while running around Christmas shopping – sweet!

I’m loving this look with Uggs…(source)

And am undecided on this one…

Dress or shorts with Uggs…yay or nay??!!

****

So continuing from yesterday’s part 1 of our weekend recap, after my fun-filled day with my sister it was time to head home and pretty up for a night out on the town with the boys. To save some money at the wine bar, us girls started with a bottle of Mumm’s champagne (super good!) and the boys had their manly drink of Jack Daniel’s and Diet Coke (a fav of my daddy’s too ;)). After some drinks and snacks of salami and cheese, the cab picked us up and took us to B Street and Vine. We don’t mess around and bellied up right to the bar…

 

Our hot dates…

And one with a background shot of the restaurant and bar…

This restaurant is known for the amazingly delicious bruschetta. They have about 15 different varieties and you get to choose 4 for $12, and since each one comes in 4 slices we had to do two rounds of this yumminess.

But first! You need something to wash it down with, so my sis and I went with a flight of Reisling – a nice tasting of my favorite wine!

Our fav was the Piesporter…super sweet, light, and refreshing…my kinda Reisling πŸ˜‰

Ok, now on to the good stuff πŸ™‚

Our #1 round of bruschetta…

From top to right – Salmon and Mascarpone; Brie with Apples; Prosciutto with Figs andΒ  Mascarpone; Salami with Pesto

Round #2!!

From top to right – Mozzarella with Tomatoes and Basil; Spicy Hummus with Tomatoes and Avocado; Salami with Pesto (it was too good to not get again!), Olive Tapenande with Feta, Cucumbers and Tomatoes

Then shenanigans ensued – me drinking from the carafe…

And Todd being his silly, goofball self…

And my sister’s boyfriend knows the key to our hearts…he snapped these amazing photos of their desserts…I know what we’re getting the next time we’re there!!

Not sure what this was…some sort of chocolate amazingness

Cheesecake and Nutella Panini – um, yes please! We are so getting this next time!

Bread Pudding!

We wanted to continue the fun so we walked down a couple blocks to Central Park Bistro. They have my fav Champagne Cocktail and I knew my sis would love it!

More shenanigans ensued…

Champagne Earrings!! This is a trend we’re starting – remember the last time? Here’s a pic to jog your memory πŸ˜‰

Sweet!

My sis got in on the fun too…and I spy a creeper in the background…

And I have to give a big thanks to my sis’s boyfriend for going behind the bar to snap these photos – yes we’re kinda a crazy bunch πŸ˜‰

We only lasted one round of drinks before we thought it was best to head home. We had a sleepover over at my sister’s pad so we all got our comfies on and ordered North Beach Pizza, the best pizza around here. We got a large of half cheese and half meat combo – we killed it πŸ™‚

Such a fun night and I hope we do it again soon! I know we already have November 13th on the books for us – it will be Todd’s Urbanathlon in San Francisco and then we’re going to celebrate afterwards – should be a blast!

Hope you’re all having a great start to your November and I may or may not see you back here tomorrow – depending on how I feel, ugh!

Questions:
Do feel like this year went by fast?
Have you kept it sick-free or are you catching colds like I am this year?
Do you like bruschetta? What’s your favorite combination? I have to say that salami one was my fav, and the apples with brie is a close second!

26 thoughts on “Happy November! And Weekend Recap Part 2

    Caitlin C. said:
    November 1, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    Love wine tasting, and that bruschetta looks AMAZING! My favorite is any kind with goat cheese. Olives are a plus too! I can’t believe it’s Nov already either. Where did the year go?!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 1, 2011 at 12:34 pm

      Mmmm love goat cheese!! Wine tasting is so much fun…you can’t ever go wrong with wine, cheese, and bread! πŸ˜‰

      Seriously, where did the year go?! Yikes! πŸ™‚

    Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog said:
    November 1, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    I love the uggs in the first outfit. It’s super cute! πŸ™‚

    Jen @ Living a Brighter Life said:
    November 1, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    I also feel like time is flying by. Its sad because I want the work day and work week to go by so the weekend is here, but then before I know it the weeks are flying by! That wine bar looks yummy! The next time The Hubs and I are on your side of the Bay we should try it out!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 1, 2011 at 12:36 pm

      I felt the exact same way too! I find sometimes it’s sad that I want M-F to go by so fast to get to the weekend and before I know it the month has flew by!!

      Yes! You and the Hubs have got to come here – you’d love it! πŸ™‚

    Courtney said:
    November 1, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    Your weekend looks like SO much fun!! I’m super jealous of your abundance of Riesling and champagne. Yummm!

    P.S. – I love bruschetta and I adore Uggs. This post was SO totally right up my alley πŸ˜‰

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 1, 2011 at 12:39 pm

      Thanks girly!! Haha yes I know you’re my kinda girl in loving Riesling, bruschetta, and Uggs…when are you coming out here for a date with me and Shanna!! πŸ˜‰

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    November 1, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    I am so green with envy and all the wine bar shenanigans! That is so me! I wanna play, I wanna play! Soon enough right? πŸ˜‰

    When I lived in LA, I’d see Uggs and bikinis and it drove me crazy. Now, I kinda dig that funky look. Who am I???

    As for Bruschetta, I love it with pesto…yummmmmmm…

    Oh yeah, I want to make pumpkin bread pudding on our blog date next week — how does that sound?

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 1, 2011 at 12:57 pm

      Omg girly, I so cannot wait once baby Sawyer is here and for us to get into wine bar shenanigans, weeeee!!!

      Haha Uggs and bikinis?! Wow now that’s fashion statement! I know overtime funky looks start to grow on me too πŸ˜‰

      I never realized how delicious bruschetta was with pesto until I had it that night – amazing!!!

      Um, pumpkin bread pudding??!! Yes please!! Sounds perfect – can’t wait girl! That’s one of Todd’s fav desserts too so he’ll be so happy to know you’re teaching me how to make it! πŸ™‚

    Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries said:
    November 1, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    Oh my goodness, that bruschetta looks amazing!! I love your choices of wines too! πŸ˜‰ And that cheesecake and nutella panini?!?! Sounds incredible. I am in love with cheesecake and nutella, so I’m sure they’d be fantastic together. It looked like you all had such a fun evening!

    I’m definitely not a fan of the Uggs with the dress (or shorts). The look Blake Lively pulls off with her Uggs is super cute though! You will be so cute in your Uggs!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 1, 2011 at 5:17 pm

      Awww thanks Ashley!! I’m hoping I can pull them off πŸ˜‰

      Btw, I just loved loved your post today…really beautifully written and love your honesty in it. I know how much it helps to write about it and it helps me to read it…knowing I’m not alone in my struggles is truly so helpful πŸ™‚

    Lauren said:
    November 1, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    I love wine and bruschetta! My favorite bruschetta is brie with diced tomatoes and balsamic reduction – it’s absolutely delicious. I am in shock how fast the year has gone by – I can’t wait to tackle a new one!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 3, 2011 at 8:48 am

      Oooo that bruschetta sounds delish!

      I can’t wait to tackle the new year too – I have a feeling it’ll be a great one!! πŸ™‚

    shannon said:
    November 2, 2011 at 10:44 am

    Those pics are hilarious! Such good times! But first let me say- I hope you are feeling better?! No mas colds for you! Extra glass of OJ is in order! Had so much fun last weekend and can’t wait to do it again! We are already talking about when we can get you two to B street and Vine again for the yumminess! And thank you for our special sister day! I agree that it was one of the best we have had in a long time! Can’t wait to do that again too! Hope you can enjoy the Uggs before NY- even if its just for Todd around the house- wink wink! Love u! Sissy

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 3, 2011 at 9:01 am

      Thanks lovey!! Yesterday was the absolute worst and I stayed home from work. Today I’m feeling better and I’m at work, but now Todd has my cold, ugh! We’re laying low this weekend in the Blumbergs inferno household, haha! πŸ˜‰

      Weee can’t wait to do B Street and Vine again soon and have another sissy day! Thank you so much again for everything! And it was all so yummy and we had such a blast with you too…however next time there will be no surprises! Heehee πŸ˜‰

      I will definitely enjoy the Uggs before NY, can’t wait to wear them and thank you so much again lovey…like you said, I’ll break them in around the house πŸ˜‰

      Love ya!! xoxo, Sissy

    Shore to Smile said:
    November 2, 2011 at 11:54 am

    This year flew by! I got married in September so the planning kept me super busy.

    I have a cold too! I haven’t been sick in a long time so I knew I was “due”. haha I’m actually just grateful I stayed healthy for my wedding day and honeymoon! A chapped nose isn’t my best look! πŸ™‚

    I love bruschetta! Give me anything on toasty bread and I’m in heaven!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 3, 2011 at 8:57 am

      Congrats on your marriage!! I just hopped over to your blog and your wedding photo in your “About” page is gorgeous!! I hope we get to see more! πŸ™‚

      Haha my nose always gets chapped too when I’m sick, ugh! And yes, thank goodness you were healthy for your wedding…although I bet all that activity wore your immunity down!

      Yes I agree! Pretty much anything on warm toasty bread is heavenly! πŸ™‚

    Laury @thefitnessdish said:
    November 2, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    I love Blake’s look but do not like Haydens at all. I think the only one that was ever able to pull off Uggs with a dress was Pam Anderson..before she realized that being an activist for PETA and wearing Uggs was a complete contradiction haha.

    I love bruchetta and I love flourless chocolate cake [that looks like it?]

    Feel better….when I felt sick a few weeks ago I did Emergen-C 3x a day, some tea with ginger root, lemon and honey, and very hot showers. I kicked it out of my system fast!!!

    Love the pics too…your hubby seems so goofy and cute and you lok beautiful as always!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 3, 2011 at 8:54 am

      Haha that’s too funny about Pam Anderson – I agree in that she can pretty much pull off anything!

      Todd just got my cold and after I read your comment I immediately went out and got us Emergen-C and Camomile tea with lemon and honey!! We’re feeling much better today, thanks girly πŸ™‚

      And thank you so much for that sweet comment, you’re the best girl πŸ™‚ xoxo

      And he definitely is a goof – isn’t that the best?! I remember you said your hubby has a great sense of humor and I think humor is one of the key things to a lasting relationship πŸ™‚

    Sherri said:
    November 3, 2011 at 8:52 am

    Hope you are feeling better. Cute pics & yummy food! Love Ya

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 3, 2011 at 9:03 am

      Thanks mom!! Yesterday was the worst and I stayed home – today I’m feeling better and am at work but now Todd has it! 😦

      We’re laying low this weekend and resting up before Todd’s big race! Btw, it’s next Sunday the 13th so let me know if you dad want to come watch!

      Love ya! xoxo

    sweetlyvegan said:
    November 3, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    oh my goodness!! This post is making me HUNGRY! πŸ˜› san fran has some epic restaurants doesn’t it! I need to get my bf to take me up there and hit some of those hot spots before we have our little one!
    I currently am bit with the cold bug, it sucks. I wish I could rewind time and use more hand sanitizer and have prevented this! I have gone thru two boxes of kleenex in three days and it hasn’t let up a bit 😦
    I had bruschetta once w shrimp, artichoke, and a white bean sauce that was delich.. but reg tomato basil with thick buffalo mozzarella cheese takes the cake for me πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 4, 2011 at 11:11 am

      Yes!! You definitely need to pay a visit to SF, you’d love it!! When you’re in the area let me know so I can give you some suggestions on where to go! πŸ™‚

      That bruschetta with shrimp does sound delish, but I’m like you and love the traditional mozzarella, tomato, and basil πŸ™‚

      I wish too I had been better with the hand sanitizer, especially this time of year! Now we know better πŸ˜‰

    andeelayne said:
    November 4, 2011 at 6:57 am

    so jealous! the wine tasting (and the food) look amazing!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 4, 2011 at 11:05 am

      It was so good Andee!! I know I’ll definitely be having wine envy once I’m preggers, lol! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

