It Feels So Good To Be Back

Posted on Updated on

Hello everyone!!! I missed you all so much and it feels so good to be back to my daily routine and the blogging community ❀ Being away made me realize that though we’re all “internet” friends, I still consider you all true real-life friends and am so happy to be back here blogging and reading about what you all have been up to πŸ™‚

On that note – let’s all catch up on what I’ve been up to! I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving…I most definitely did – x2! And our trip to New York was absolutely fantastic. My in-laws are amazing people and they made me feel so comfortable and right at home – we all had such a lovely time together and I can’t wait to visit with them all again in the very near future. While the boys were out hunting, I spent my days getting in quality time with my mother-in-law watching Food Network and helping her out in the kitchen here and there – I helped make the Pumpkin Pie and prepped her fantastic homemade tomato sauce by crushing lots of garlic and breaded the chicken for the Chicken Parmesan – it was delicious!! I especially had such a glorious time with my niece and nephews – they are the most adorable children with the most amazing personalities – I developed a love for them that I never knew I had and you should have seen me at the airport when we were leaving, I was a blubbering mess! They are so very special and the whole time I couldn’t stop thinking about our own children running around like them and having little cousins for them to play with – made my heart absolutely melt ❀

I wanted to keep a balance of spending quality time with my in-laws and capturing it through photos as well, so while I could have taken more pictures, I still tried to capture those special moments so here’s a little photo recap of my New York trip…

Side note – I will never, ever again travel the day before Thanksgiving. For some reason when I booked our return flight home, I had high hopes that the travel wouldn’t be that bad and just told myself to be positive. Well let me tell you, no positivity could fix that nightmare. I may be sounding a little dramatic, but let’s just say that our flight out of NY was delayed which caused us to miss our connecting flight (you should have seen us running through the airport – classic!), almost had to spend the night on the airport floor, and would have missed my family’s Thanksgiving feast. However, we lucked out and there was a delayed flight to San Francisco that we were able to transfer to…however, that flight decided to be delayed another 2 more hours due to air traffic and we didn’t get home until 11:30pm – and we were on East Coast time so we felt like it was 2:30am! And might I add, we flew out of San Jose (not San Francisco) so the next day we had to drive the 30 minutes to San Jose to pick up Todd’s car. Let’s just say, moral of the story, never travel the day before Thanksgiving! Never in my life had I been so happy to be home πŸ˜‰

Ok, end of rant and back to more Thanksgiving festivities! With only 5 hours of sleep that night, don’t ask me how but I bounded out of bed right at 6:30am, got all our vacation laundry done, and got to my gym’s 8:15am morning spin class. It was the perfect way to start my Thanksgiving day and it felt so good to get a nice sweat in and get ready for another Thanksgiving feast!

This whole crew here…

recycled photo

…got together at my parents house around 3pm to catch up on all the details of our NY vacation and to start watching the 49er game – all while snacking on some chips, veggies, and glorious champy πŸ˜‰

Then before we knew it, it was time to feast!

Sadly, don’t ask me how, but I totally forgot to take pics of my sister’s glorious Pumpkin Chiffon Pie and Pumpkin Cheesecake. They are the most decadent, delicious pies ever and I dominated a slice of each. Todd and I also took home some leftovers of the Pumpkin Cheesecake to which we finished off Sunday morning πŸ˜‰

Again, I hope you all had a wonderful, family/friend fun-filled, delicious Thanksgiving and I can’t wait to start gearing up for my all-time favorite holiday – Christmas!! Can’t wait to start the holiday shopping, baking, and playing my fav ‘Nsync “Home For Christmas” Album…I can’t be the only who loves that, right?! πŸ˜‰

Questions:
What was your favorite dish or dessert from Thanksgiving? Mine was my MIL sweet potato yams and gravy, my mom’s veggie casserole and fruit salad, and my sister’s pies!
Did any of you score some Black Friday or Cyber Monday deals?! Sadly I did not – I just wasn’t in the mood to deal with the crowds on Friday and yesterday I didn’t find any good deals worth spending money on 😦
What’s your favorite holiday music/album?

12 thoughts on “It Feels So Good To Be Back

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    November 29, 2011 at 10:56 am

    Yaayyy! You’re back πŸ™‚ I’ve missed your posts!

    So glad you had a wonderful time in NY with your in-laws and also a fab T-day with the fam!

    I hear ya on flying the day before Thanksgiving. It is absolutely miserable! I used to do that but would leave on the 7a flight so at least I had some cushion, but the lines were always insane and I was a stress muffin by the time I reached my destination.

    Send me an email with what your schedule is like and if you have any days you’re off from work πŸ˜‰

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 29, 2011 at 11:09 am

      Thanks girly, I’ve missed it too!! πŸ™‚

      Haha you had me laughing out loud with “stress muffin” – love it! I was definitely one of those – eek!

      I’ll send you an email soon πŸ˜‰

    Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries said:
    November 29, 2011 at 11:20 am

    It’s SO great to hear about your trip! It sounds like you had a wonderful time making lots of good memories with family, eating delicious food, and really enjoying yourself, which I’m so glad to hear. πŸ™‚ Sorry about all of your flight complications though – how frustrating! Glad you made it back in time for your family’s Thanksgiving though.

    Just like every year, my favorite Thanksgiving dish was definitely my stepdad’s sweet potato casserole – ahh it’s SO GOOD. Everything was fantastic though.

    I didn’t get out shopping on Black Friday, but I found my hubby’s Christmas gift online yesterday for 20% off, so I was happy camper about that. πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 29, 2011 at 11:23 am

      Thanks so much Ashley!! Yes it was so great and it looks like we were both very successful in our trips πŸ˜‰

      Oooo that sweet potato casserole sounds delish!! There’s really nothing better than those pillows of yumminess!

      How awesome you found hubby’s gift for 20% off – that definitely would have made me a happy camper too!

    loftyappetite said:
    November 29, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    the last few years I drove on the tuesday before thanksgiving and I am so mad at myself that I let my brother convince me to drive on Wednesday this year! It was awful!! the 7 hour drive took us 10 hours, and we stood still for about an hour of it. not cool. never again.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 30, 2011 at 10:08 am

      Yikes!! That sounds horrid and I definitely feel your pain on that – I guess we all have to learn the hard way huh? πŸ˜‰

    Trainer Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    November 29, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    I have so many holiday albums that I love, but currently I’m loving Michael Buble’s, Josh Groban’s, Diana Krall’s and Mariah Carey’s Christmas albums most. I also love Kristin Chenoweth’s as well!

    I’m glad you are back and had such an awesome time in NY visiting relatives and then with your family for Thanksgiving!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 30, 2011 at 10:07 am

      Ooo I’ll have to listen to those albums!!

      Thanks so much Kjirsten – it definitely was an awesome Thanksgiving! πŸ™‚

    Sherri said:
    November 29, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    Yes, it is one of those flying perils, at least you finally connected and home where you belong.

    Lauren said:
    November 30, 2011 at 11:24 am

    Welcome back! I took time off too, and I am still catching up on blog posts to read and write πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 30, 2011 at 12:31 pm

      Thanks Lauren!! I’m still catching up too – my google reader was blowing up! haha πŸ™‚

    A Fabulous, Delicious Weekend | The Good Life said:
    December 13, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    […] venison Todd cooked up – it was the actual venison that Todd hunted for while we were back in New York for Thanksgiving. Thoughts? This was my first time trying it and I admit, I wasn’t a huge fan. I’m a […]

Leave a Reply

