Holiday Shopping – For Me?!

Posted on Updated on

Hello all! How is everyone’s Tuesday Wednesday going? For some reason all today I’ve been thinking it’s Tuesday – it’s nice when you realize it’s actually a day later than you thought – don’t you love it when that happens? 😉

So with Christmas now less than a month away it’s time to gear up as Santa’s little elves and start holiday gift shopping for your family and friends. Though I believe the holiday’s should be a time to cherish and celebrate moments with family and friends and to remember that Christmas is a day to commemorate the birth of Jesus Christ, it’s also one in sharing joy with others through gift giving, and I admit that I already got holiday shopping on the brain. So much so that I’ve already started shopping for none other than…me!

Am I the only guilty one here who has high hopes of buying gifts for friends and family, only to leave the store with a gift for yourself? I think we all deserve a treat now and then and I like to believe it makes dealing with all the crazy mall crowds and traffic that much more bearable when you got a special lil something for yourself 😉 And how can I not pass up the adorable penguin themed goodies that are especially on display during Christmastime. Like these adorable penguin mugs I found at Target that I absolutely could not pass up…

They also came with matching placemats and plates but hubby said no – good for my wallet but sad for the soul, haha

And Trader Joe’s – don’t even set foot in there if you don’t want to come out with a bag full of holiday goodies that they got going on right now. Like these gems I found there the other day…

Everything is absolutely delicious, but the Cookie Butter? Um – amazing!! Just like Biscoff Spread but a lot thicker and more dense – delish!

And random side note but speaking of Biscoff Spread, if you ever come across buying a jar and have emptied it in a week like we did, then I highly suggest you make Overnight Oats in it – purely amazing…

So back to holiday shopping, I also got my eye out for some over-the-knee boots. And with the help from Ms. Shoe Fashionista Shanna, she told me about the awesome shoe website that is Endless.com and I already got my eye on a couple beauties…

Chinese Laundry – Kingdom

Franco Sarto – Social

And I love flat boots too – especially with hardware on it…

Madden Girl – Ravia

And you may be asking, why not ask Santa for a pair of boots? (Yes we still have “Santa” in this household ;)) Well, since my laptop is kaput I’ve asked Santa for a new iPad (!!) So excited…

(source)

Speaking of iPad’s – are they blogging friendly? I know all you ladies are pretty tech savvy so please leave me any input/advice you may have on the iPad!

The holiday season is about spreading cheer and love to family and friends – but I also thinking showing your love through food, cards, or gifts is something so special and what makes this time of year so wonderful 🙂

Questions:
What’s on your wish list this holiday season?!
Do you still play “Santa” with your family? For our Xmas Eve family holiday party, my dad plays Santa for the little kids and it’s the most adorable thing ever – it’s an awesome tradition that I love so much ❤

Christmas Eve 2009 – sis, mom, Santa (dad!), Todd, me (wow with short hair!)

19 thoughts on “Holiday Shopping – For Me?!

    Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries said:
    November 30, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    Ahh I wish I would’ve seen/known about the TJ’s Cookie Spread when I was there in Arizona! Dumb Utah doesn’t have Trader Joe’s. Ha. Where do you get your Biscoff spread? I really haven’t looked that hard, but they don’t have in the grocery store or Wal Mart or Target nearest us.

    A few fun things on my Christmas list this year: a new Canon PowerShot (mine is about to die); Garmin Forerunner watch; a massage; new workout clothes; Just Dance for the Wii (such a fun game if you’ve never played!). I have a few other random doodads that I want too, but that’s about it. 😉

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      November 30, 2011 at 12:43 pm

      Bummer!! I got the Biscoff Spread (http://www.biscoff.com/) from a grocery store here called Mollie Stones – Hmmm perhaps we could do a lil bartar??!! 😉

      Oooo I’m liking your Christmas list!! Especially the workout clothes – I can always use more of those and I especially like to ask for Lulu Lemon items since they’re a bit pricey but love them so very much, so they’re always on the wish list for me 😉

        Shanna, like Banana said:
        November 30, 2011 at 5:42 pm

        You can also find the Biscoff at Raleigh’s (sp?) and Whole Foods 🙂

        Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
        December 1, 2011 at 5:11 pm

        Oooo good to know – Thanks Shan! 🙂

    Trainer Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    November 30, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    All I really want is a comfy pair of slippers this Christmas from Santa (we still play along)! Since I just got a new camera and a new laptop this past weekend (since both broke) I feel like I don’t need much else. I’m sure I’ll ask my parents for baby things since there is an endless list of stuff we still need to buy!

    I’m loving those boots!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 1, 2011 at 5:00 pm

      Yay for still playing Santa!! 🙂 And baby stuff for xmas presents is a perfect idea – hmmm I’m thinking I should plan my pregnancy around Christmas time?! 😉

    loftyappetite said:
    November 30, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    Wow I need to get myself to Trader Joe’s, ASAP! yummy.
    Also, on cyber monday I bought 3 pairs of boots on amazon, but I swear I am only keeping 1! I really want a pair of camel colored boots. And the shoe deals on amazon were amazing, like $100 lower than anywhere else i looked at ones i wanted, yes please! So I’m anxiously awaiting their arrival!
    We have an iPad, but I only use it for reading blogs. In my opinion it is not blog friendly unless you plan on taking your pictures with it. iTunes makes it very difficult to transfer any files, but it is possible, just a pain. also the lack of keyboard is like typing a post on your iphone, except with 1 finger because the screen is larger. Just typing comments drive me nuts so I rarely comment when I’m traveling and only reading via iPad. I like my keyboard and usb friendly laptop for blogging instead! This is just my opinion, other may like it. But the iPad is seriously awesome for everything else (like reading ebooks, online shopping, or watching netflix on a long layover at the airport!!)

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 1, 2011 at 5:04 pm

      Yes Mila!! Get thee to TJ’s asap! 😉

      Thanks so much for your advice on the iPad! I’m definitely getting a keyboard to go with the iPad since I have nails and typing on the touchscreen all the time would get highly annoying for me. Blogging-wise if worse comes to worse, I guess I can always do the majority of my blogging at work since that’s what I’m currently doing anyways 😉

    Andrea @ Andrea out loud! said:
    November 30, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    OO i have been wondering the same thing about the iPads being blog friendly. Since i blog through wordpress, they actually have a nice wordpress app that i have used on my phone (iphone) to type posts when out and about which is nice.
    we still play santa too! I am dying for an ipad also (would love a macbook, instead of my dell laptop but thast a little spendy right now) but torr is not computer savvy and doesnt really like laptops so i am actually thinking about getting HIM an ipad for xmas! The ipad 3 is coming out in march too… geesh keeping up with technology is hard! 🙂

      Lauren said:
      November 30, 2011 at 5:20 pm

      Get a Macbook Pro! I have one (bought it for myself for Christmas last year) and I absolutely love it!

        Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
        December 1, 2011 at 5:10 pm

        Girl I would love love a Macbook Pro but they’re just too darn expensive. My parents have two and I absolutely love it when I go over to their house and I use it all the time – maybe someday!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 1, 2011 at 5:07 pm

      Yay for still playing Santa!!

      Yes my coworker actually was just telling me today that the iPad has an awesome WordPress app that I could use so I think that would be perfect. Wow they have one for the iPhone? That’s the next item on my list – I am so getting that once my contract for my BlackBerry is up! I would love a Macbook Pro too but like you said, it’s just too expensive – I’m thinking (and hoping!) that the iPad will work fine for me. I know keeping up with this technology is crazy! iPad 3 next March already?! Yikes! Thanks so much for your advice Andrea 🙂

    Lauren said:
    November 30, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    Not sure about an iPad for blogging, but they are great for surfing the internet. I have some new jeans, Tory Burch Boots and a knife set (foodie) from Williams Sonoma on my wish list. I am a big fan of giving yourself gifts so I got myself an amazing Blue Topaz Ring – I love it!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 1, 2011 at 5:09 pm

      Great to know the iPad is good for the internet – that’s all I do on the computer anyway! 🙂

      Oooo your ring sounds gorgeous! Glad to know we relate on treating ourselves to gifts – we work hard for our money, right?! 😉 And I would love a pair of Tory Burch boots too – gorgeous!

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    November 30, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    YIppeee! You went shoe browsing 🙂 All great choices, but I think the Franco Sarto are the cutest and luckily they tend to feel pretty comfy . WIN! I hope Santa gets them for you (hint hint Todd!!!).

    Would you believe I want a second ring to go with my push present ring? Yeah, I’m terrible. I will ‘settle’ for a healthy baby boy instead 😛

    You look so freakin’ cute with your fam in that pic! Love it!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 1, 2011 at 4:59 pm

      I’m definitely leaning towards the Franco Sarto too – good to know they’re comfy – that’s a definite win for me! And yes – hint hint hubby! 🙂

      Hmmm well don’t you need a second push present for when Sawyer is here?! One for carrying the baby and one for pushing him out – hint hint Zach! 😉 But yes, a healthy baby boy will indeed be the best gift of all, it will be one special Christmas for you 🙂

    Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers said:
    December 2, 2011 at 11:55 am

    Cookie butter?!?! How could that NOT be good? 🙂 Love the mugs.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 8, 2011 at 4:41 pm

      Thanks Tiff!! And yes, the Cookie Butter is absolutely amazing! I highly recommend you snagging a jar if you can 😉

    Friday Lovin’ | The Good Life said:
    December 9, 2011 at 10:10 am

    […] also want to say thank you so much for your feedback about my iPad conundrum on whether or not a) I should get one? and b) if they’re compatible for blogging? […]

Leave a Reply

