I Give Myself Permission To…

Posted on Updated on

Happy Friday everyone!! Not to mention Happy December! Can you believe we’re at the last month of the year already? Crazy how time flies by so fast – although I feel that this year in particular especially flew by. Not sure why…maybe it’s because I’m finally happy in a steady job, my health is the best it’s been in a very long time, and I’ve made fantastic friends through this blogging community – I think that makes for a fantastic year πŸ™‚ And although it’s been a wonderful, yet speedy one, it got me thinking about how I want to make next year an even better one and what goals I want to set for myself. But before I talk about 2012 goals, a post I want to save for the end of this month, I want to think about goals that I want to be proactive about, not just for the new year, but for a lifetime. Balance is a lifetime goal for me, and I want to feel more confident in who I am as a person and my life in general, it’s a way of saying to ourselves “I Give Myself Permission To…” and owning it.

I got this inspiration from Sarah Michelle Gellar and her article in this month’s Self Magazine…

I absolutely love her attitude in “Giving Herself Permission To…” and it really inspired me to think about what I give myself permission to do. So I thought it’d be fun to make my own list here and in the comments section I would love to hear yours!

I Give Myself Permission To…

  • …let go of regrets from my past. I would love to reclaim my 20’s and live it without an eating disorder and days of overexercising, but what’s done is done. Now I can only live in the present and look towards the future and thank God that I’m a healthier and happier person. Those struggles made me who I am today and I can only hope to help others out there with what I’ve learned.
  • …get angry and upset in having HA and not being able to get a period/conceive as quickly as I expected to…and then have a pity party over it all. But I am quick to remind myself that I have a wonderful and fulfilling life filled with loving family and friends and that my miracle will come with patience and perseverance.
  • …let myself enjoy the holiday’s with all the indulgent food that comes with it – we only live once and it’s ok to enjoy special moments through food, wine, and of course, good company.
  • …to workout at a light intensity and take days off from the gym in order to help our chances of conceiving. Sure it bothers me that I can’t workout like the athlete I am, but now is the time to relax and build a safe nest for baby. I have to remind myself that working out and training like an athlete can happen after the baby.
  • …to be happy with my job. Sure I start to get FB envy over friends that have this or that kind of job, but would their job make me happy? No! Being happy is what I strive for in life, and life is too short to not be happy, period.
  • …to not obsess over the scale and accept my body the shape that it is. The more I read about other women with HA, the more I realize that I need to be at a higher bmi (22-23=fertile bmi) and that will be a weight I’ve never seen before in my entire life. It mentally sits uncomfortable with me, but I just have to accept where my body and weight will be happy and fertile at.
  • …make time for myself by getting a pedicure, reading blogs, and watching trashy reality television – why should I feel guilty for liking the RH?! πŸ˜‰
  • …to always make time for my husband and our marriage. Once we have children I want us to remember that our marriage always come first, then the kids. I believe that to keep a marriage healthy and happy forever, the husband and wife should always make time for each others needs first, then they can tend to the children and give them the most loving, wonderful life.
  • …to make time for family and friends. Laughing and commiserating with those special people in your life creates a bond and a happiness that is infectious. I think it’s important to maintain these friendships so that as a whole you’re a happier person, and so then you can give yourself better to all other areas of your life – work, significant other, children, etc.
  • …to disconnect from FB and blogs/blogging. Though I do love to keep in touch with everyone, I believe it’s also healthy to detach from the internet social circles and to not get caught up on what is going on in everyone else’s lives – remember that your own life is just as important and deserving of the utmost attention.
  • …always be me, and nobody else. There’s only one of us in this entire world, that is what makes us so unique and special, and we should own and appreciate every different, quirky part of ourselves.

I hope you all are having a fantastic Friday and have a wonderful weekend!!! I have plans tomorrow to meet up for lunch and shopping with a lovely girlfriend of mine – I love her dearly and we’ve been friends since Kindergarten – can’t wait to catch up with her πŸ™‚ And then that night hubby, sis, and I will be at the parentals having our usual family fun – good food, wine, and everything in between πŸ˜‰

Questions:
What do you “give yourself permission to…”?
Any fun plans for you this weekend?!

15 thoughts on “I Give Myself Permission To…

    Lauren said:
    December 2, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    Good for you, it’s really important to find a good balance. I give myself permission to relax, so many times I find myself worrying and stressing about things that are completely out of my control. I need to relax and not worry so much.

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 8, 2011 at 5:01 pm

      Thank you Lauren!! I can totally relate to needing to relax more – I too find myself getting anxious/worried over things that I cannot control. Like you, I’m gonna give myself permission to relax too πŸ˜‰

    Laura @ Special Treats said:
    December 3, 2011 at 6:14 am

    What a beautiful, beautiful post. I have been thinking the exact same things…I felt as though I had wrote this post as I read it. Balance is SO important with EVERYTHING in our lives. I give myself permission to eat whatever I want during the holidays and take a few days of rest a week from exercise. As a fitness enthusiast and a personal trainer, I never thought I’d come to a point in my life where I would do this, but this is what my body has been telling me to do if I want to be a Mommy one day. πŸ™‚ Thank you, thank you for your friendship and awesome/encouraging posts. Have a great weekend!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 8, 2011 at 4:59 pm

      Thank you so much Laura!! I never thought too that I’d come to this point and have to gain above my “happy” weight in order to be a Mommy one day. To help myself mentally with this, I like to think that by gaining some weight and relaxing on the exercise, that we’re building a safe playground (womb) for the baby-to-be so that they can grow, play, and be safe in their home for those 9 months πŸ™‚

      Thank you Laura as well for your friendship – it helps so much to go through this together with someone who understands everything – we can get through this journey together and one day have our miracle ❀

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    December 3, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    Fabulous post lovely! So sincere and so optimistic, but tempered with reality and honesty which I think is important πŸ˜‰

    I give myself permission to gain a few more pounds than I hoped in this pregnancy (even though that’s hard just typing out!).

    I give myself permission to not apologizing for *not* being a roses and sunshine person all the time.

    I give myself permission to indulge in retail therapy…hehe.

    I’m off to my Bestie’s baby shower in a bit — it’s a surprise πŸ™‚

    Have fun with your friend!!!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 8, 2011 at 4:54 pm

      Thank you my friend πŸ™‚ That is so very sweet of you to say ❀

      I absolutely love your list! I can imagine how hard it must be to gain over what you expected during pregnancy, but at the same time feel good about it because you're growing a baby! I'm glad you're not being so hard on yourself about that – you look absolutely gorgeous no matter what the size and I mean that from the bottom of my heart πŸ™‚

      And I love your "not apologizing for *not* being a roses and sunshine person all the time". I struggle with that too sometimes – I also feel that at times I have to be this "on point", perfect, happy person all the time – but I have to give myself a break and remember that's not reality – I'm allowed to have my down days! And I love your permission for retail therapy – I indulged in too much of that with my friend last Saturday – finally got a pair of over-the-knee boots!! I'll show them on the blog tomorrow πŸ˜‰

    lifeworthsharing said:
    December 3, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    I also really like the “giving myself permission” idea. When I am balanced, my happiness level is through the roof. It’s easy to see when something goes out of whack. I’m so busy this year that I stress I’ll miss the Christmas season before I enjoy it. I give myself permission to enjoy a few extra Christmas lattes for extra energy, read some books for fun, and take exercise classes that might burn a few less calories but make me smile while doing it! πŸ™‚

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 8, 2011 at 4:44 pm

      Thanks Kellie! It’s a great “freeing” feeling to think in that mindset. I absolute love your “I give myself permission to…” list – I think they sound absolutely perfect and I especially like the “take exercise classes that might burn a few less calories but makes me smile while doing it” Love that! Exercise can be so much more fun when we let ourselves be active doing something we love, as opposed to just doing something that burns the most calories! πŸ™‚

    Trainer Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    December 5, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    I love giving myself permission to indulge in the holidays! It could mean watching too many Christmass movies to eating one to many holiday cookies! I just love this time of year and always want to make sure I take full advantage of all it has to offer!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 8, 2011 at 5:02 pm

      Love that Kjirsten and amen to that!! I am so giving myself permission to do that too – life is too short to not enjoy it with those simple pleasures – especially during the holiday season! πŸ™‚

    sarahsmodernbites said:
    December 7, 2011 at 10:46 am

    Shayla! I plan to leave a more thoughtful response later… but in a pinch, I wanted to let you know that IPads are NOT super blogging friendly. I have an Ipad2 3g/wireless and I can tell you that I LOOOOOOVE it but NOT for blogging. DEF DEF get the 3g option. It doesn’t have a USB port and just makes blogging VERY time consuming. If I didn’t have a laptop and just had my Ipad I wouldn’t blog haha

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 8, 2011 at 5:40 pm

      Sarah!! How have you been girly?! Missed you and hope you’re doing well!

      Thank you thank you for giving me this feedback! No one for sure has told me whether or not iPad is compatible for my blogging and now I know! Thanks girl! I decided I’m going to have my family contribute to my xmas present gift cards to Best Buy so I can weigh all my options πŸ™‚

    sweetlyvegan said:
    December 8, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    I really loved this post!! How inspring you are!! I give myself permission to not be completely vegan while pregnant and not feel bad about it! I also love RH especially beverly hills!!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 9, 2011 at 8:59 am

      Thank you so much girl! πŸ™‚

      I love your permission to go by what your body needs during your pregnancy – so healthy to have that mindset in order to grow a healthy and strong baby!

      Haha so glad to know I have another RH Beverly Hills lover – it’s definitely my fav one out of all the Housewives! πŸ˜‰

    Friday Lovin’ | The Good Life said:
    December 9, 2011 at 10:53 am

    […] TGIF everyone!!! First off, I want to say how much I enjoyed reading your “I Give Myself Permission To…” comments – it really warmed my heart and I loved hearing all that you give yourself […]

Leave a Reply

