Friday Lovin’

Posted on Updated on

Happy TGIF everyone!!! First off, I want to say how much I enjoyed reading your “I Give Myself Permission To…” comments – it really warmed my heart and I loved hearing all that you give yourself permission to do. (And if you haven’t yet read the comments I suggest you doΒ  – they’re a lovely read by some awesome ladies) πŸ˜‰

And I think we should especially keep that “I Give Myself Permission To…” mentality in mind when there are days that are tough and we feel especially anxious or stressed – I think it’s ok to remind yourself to say “I Give Myself Permission To…relax, do a fun exercise class, grab a treat, get a pedicure, etc. Do whatever you need to do to bring happiness back into yourself/your life so that you can enjoy everyday to the fullest πŸ™‚

I also want to say thank you so much for your feedback about my iPad conundrum on whether or not a) I should get one? and b) if they’re compatible for blogging? After reviewing your advice and especially great tips from the lovely Sarah and talking about it more with my parents, we decided that they’ll all get me gift cards to Best Buy. I think that’s the perfect option so that I can weigh my choices at the store and compare the iPad (they sell them now at Best Buy) to all the other laptops and see what will work best for me. I’ll definitely post about it once I make my purchase πŸ™‚

****

Anyway, most of you follow me on twitter so I think a lot of you knew what I was up to…

So yeah, that’s pretty much the only excuse as to why you haven’t seen blog posts from me this whole week. And to be honest, I just needed a break and I’ve just had an emotional week – last weekend was an emotional one for me in regard to some personal stuff…

Although there was a bright light in that I had the most amazing day with my friend. You know those friendships where you can pick up right where you left off and like no time has passed? I think it’s been about a year since I’ve last seen her and every time I do it’s simply amazing. We actually mentioned to each other that we never feel any anxiety or nervousness upon seeing each other – I’m always so relaxed with this girl and am laughing non-stop with her. She’s got the most awesome sense of humor and personality – there was a reason why we’ve been such great friends since Kindergarten and Girl Scouts, we just have a great connection. I love her dearly and can’t wait for our next get together πŸ™‚

And I think this photo speaks for itself of just how much we can have when we’re together…

My mom is simply awesome – she got her groove thing on at our wedding πŸ˜‰

So back to the other parts of my weekend, it was an emotional one and it’s stuff I won’t discuss here, but will say that I just didn’t want to force a “happy go lucky” post when I wasn’t feeling in that mood at all this week. All I felt like doing was focusing on work and tackling my Christmas shopping – which always makes me happy – love buying gifts for my family and friends πŸ™‚ And, I’m happy to say I got every person done, yipeee! Except for Todd…still thinking about that one! Above all else – today is Friday, I woke up on the right side of the bed, I got a fun night planned for tonight, and I’m ready to make this weekend a better one.

So with that, it’s Friday and I love my Friday Lovin’ posts because it just simply gives me a chance to tell you all what I’ve been loving lately. Like more delicious holiday finds from Trader Joe’s…

Delicious is all I can say – trust me

And we got our mini Christmas trees decorated!!!

They look kinda funky, but cute, haha! We weren’t about to do real trees again this year – we did that once and it was such a mess (p.s. we have hardwood floors!). Don’t get me wrong, I do love them and our family got real trees throughout my childhood, but it’s just not for Todd and I. We have plans to buy a fake one once they go on sale after Xmas to use for next year!

More penguin decorations…

When you turn him on he changes colors from blue to green to yellow to red – too cute

Papa penguin

And these lovelies…

(source)

Here I have the shaft unfolded all the way up

It’s hard to see in the pics just how lovely these boots are – and super comfy!

I bought them last Saturday with my friend and I couldn’t pass them up. Regular price $150 and got them on sale for $112…I think that’s a pretty great deal, don’t cha think? πŸ˜‰

And I’ve updated my blog theme to “Bouquet”…I can’t stop changing the look of my blog and I think I’m really loving this one…

And my lovely coworker got me on to this great new holiday feature for your blog – in the Settings you can choose “Show falling snow on my blog until January 4th” – in the pic above you can kind of see the white dots – that’s the snow. I love it – super cute and festive

And the other day, I got a shipment of this deliciousness…

That there on the left is a magnum bottle – whoo hoo!

In which I’ll be enjoying with these lovelies…

And then it’s off to here (our fav spot!) for some more shenanigans and good times πŸ™‚

I’ll give you a hint as to what we’ll be indulging in…

Yes pleaseee!!! πŸ˜‰

Hope you all have a fantastic Friday and a wonderful weekend! I know I sure will…tomorrow I’m meeting up with this wonderful friend to bake up some delicious pecan pie cookies – never tried them before and I definitely can’t wait for our baking extravaganza πŸ™‚

Questions:
Any fun plans for tonight or this weekend?!
If you shop at Trader Joe’s, what’s your favorite holiday treat right now? Mine is the Cookie Butter!!!

27 thoughts on “Friday Lovin’

    Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries said:
    December 9, 2011 at 10:23 am

    I missed you this week! I hope everything is going okay… You know you can always shoot me an email or tweet if you’re in need of some support and encouragement. πŸ˜‰ I hope you’ve had fun Christmas shopping! I’m loving your cute Christmas decor! I love Christmas time.

    It looks like you guys have a fun weekend lined up! Tonight the hubby and I are planning going out to do some Christmas shopping. We still have quite a bit to do, so I hope we’re successful this evening! Tomorrow we have a Christmas party which brings excitement and a little anxiety. I’m sure it’ll be fun though, right?! πŸ˜‰

    Enjoy yourself this weekend pretty lady! xoxo

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 9, 2011 at 10:40 am

      Thank you so much Ashely – that really means a lot to me and I will definitely take you up on your offer πŸ™‚

      Have fun Christmas shopping and I hope you’re successful! And yes, I feel you on Christmas parties bringing anxiety, but don’t you fret. You’re such a lovely person with such a bright, happy personality – I’m sure it will be a blast for you and just have a glass of wine to ease the nerves πŸ˜‰ Enjoy yourself too my friend! xoxo

    Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers said:
    December 9, 2011 at 10:44 am

    Loooove the boot and sweater outfit. So chic! πŸ™‚ I think I’d love those pretzel slims too though, so thanks for pointing those out. I’m going to hunt for them at TJs this weekend!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 9, 2011 at 11:04 am

      You’re so sweet – thanks so much Tiff!! πŸ™‚

      I have a good feeling you’ll love these pretzel slims – and I’m not a big peppermint person, but these are just simply awesome – hope you find them!! πŸ˜‰

    Trainer Kjirsten- Balanced Healthy Life said:
    December 9, 2011 at 10:44 am

    Those boots are so amazing!!! I could just eat them up! πŸ™‚

    I wasn’t feeling posting too much either this week. I never try and force a blog post since I use blogging as an outlet and it is fun for me. As soon as I make myself post, it wont be fun anymore and will feel more like a job.

    I’m loving your new blog look! It is always so much fun to change this up and keep them ever evolving!

    It looks like your about to have yourself one fun filled weekend! We wont be up to too much, probably relaxing a bit and going out to eat somewhere. I don’t know when, but I’ve turned into the biggest homebody ever! My favorite weekends are cooking with the husband and watching movies together! : )

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 9, 2011 at 11:09 am

      Haha thanks so much girl – I wanted to eat them up too right when I saw them! πŸ˜‰

      I totally agree with you in never forcing a post – I too love to use blogging as an outlet and a hobby I love and never want it to feel like a job or an obligation πŸ™‚

      And thank you for the blog compliment! Like you said, I love to keep it ever evolving – makes it fun and exciting!

      Hmmm sounds like you’re entering the nesting mode! πŸ˜‰ I’m the same though – I love love being a homebody and our favorite days are when we chill on the couch and catch up with our dvr or rent a movie – we’re hoping to see The Hangover II or Friends With Benefits movie πŸ™‚

    loftyappetite said:
    December 9, 2011 at 11:21 am

    ooh i’m loving the new theme! I also got the snow, love it!
    I also have not been in the blogging mood this week. All my computer time has been spent finishing Christmas shopping so that it could get here in time before Christmas, so that i can just relax and bake cookies for the rest of the month πŸ˜‰ and I also got new boots this week, gotta love getting treats for ourselves when Christmas shopping! the deals are too amazing to pass up!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 9, 2011 at 11:32 am

      Thanks Mila!! Yay for snow!

      I totally relate to everything you said in your comment – love it. And it must be a full moon this week – sounds like a lot of us ladies just weren’t in the blogging mood! I too spent all my computer time for Christmas shopping – and yes please to relaxing and baking cookies – nothing sounds better πŸ˜‰

      Seriously – the deals right now are insane! They are definitely just too good to pass up and I’m all for treating ourselves during the holiday season πŸ™‚

    Christina E said:
    December 9, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    The only downside is the snow doesn’t show up on my iPad. I love the new very pink look πŸ™‚

    I love the boots! Almost as much as all the penguins πŸ˜‰

    You need to try the chocolate covered marshmallows from TJ’s. They’re a big hit in the Eavis household right now. But the bag is often empty by the time I get home :/

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 9, 2011 at 5:28 pm

      I have you to thank girly for showing me the snow and new themes – thank you! πŸ™‚

      Haha the boots and penguins are pretty neck-n-neck huh?!

      Um chocolate covered marshmallows?! How come I don’t know about these??!! I must find them – I already predict them being gone by a certain someone (Todd!) before I get home πŸ˜‰

    Lauren said:
    December 9, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    Bruschetta?! I love Trader Joe’s but I haven’t gone in a while since I am trying to save money!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 9, 2011 at 5:26 pm

      Yep!! You guessed right! πŸ˜‰

      I know TJ’s can be such a money suck! Every time I go there I always try to only get what’s on my list, but inevitably come back with 3 things that were splurges!

    Shanna, like Banana said:
    December 9, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    The new theme is faboosh, particularly the snow! How festive — love love love! πŸ™‚

    And um the boots, get out of here! They rock! And you are rockin’ them….pure perfection. That makes me want to go out and buy a new pair of boots and I love how these have the two options (foldover and all the way up). Score!

    I just opened the cookie butter from TJ’s. OMG. It’s better than Biscoff. It’s better than crack (err, well since I’ve never done crack, I’m not positive, but am pretty sure).

    Hope to chat tomorrow about our emotional stuff 😦 Cookies will make it better (and so would that Chandon!)

    See you soon! Hugs!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 9, 2011 at 6:03 pm

      Haha love that! Definite “faboosh” theme πŸ˜‰

      Yaaaay!! So happy I got the boot approval from the shoe fashionista!! πŸ˜‰ Once baby Sawyer makes his arrival, we are so going on a shopping/shoe spree and wine date together – so.cannot.wait!! πŸ™‚

      Ahhhh Cookie Butter!! Amazing right?! And though I wouldn’t know either, I have to agree it’s better than crack, the stuff is better than anything, haha! So looking forward to chatting about everything with you too girly – I love that I have a true, amazing friend in you and we can confide in each other about all this stuff πŸ™‚ xoxo

      And yes, tonight the Chandon will make everything better and tomorrow the cookies – can’t wait!

    lapiattini said:
    December 9, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    Great boots! Look really good with the grey sweater- where is that from? I love it!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 12, 2011 at 6:09 am

      Thanks girl!! The sweater dress is from Express – last year though πŸ™‚

    Meghan said:
    December 12, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    SHAY SHAY! it was just so great seeing you, and I’m already looking forward to our next outing. It was definitely the highlight of my week. And the boots are amazing, they look fantastic on you. Best buy ever πŸ™‚ big hugs, xoxo

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 13, 2011 at 11:07 am

      MEGHAN!!! Thank you so much girly, and if it wasn’t for you scoping them out I wouldn’t have these beauties, so thank you! πŸ˜‰

      Looking forward to next Thursday, can’t wait! xoxo

    onehealthyapple said:
    December 12, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    I love the cocoa almond butter- it’s such a treat. I’m also loving the boots- so cute!

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 13, 2011 at 11:14 am

      Thanks girl! πŸ™‚

      Oooo cocoa almond butter??!! Sounds delish! I’ll have to keep my eye out for it πŸ˜‰

    lindsay said:
    December 12, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    Hiiii its ‘lindsayann’. Love that I found your blog shayla, because, well, I love you! I feel like I really really know you yet we’ve never met….crazy. oh, and, I have to tell you that I am a HUGE, as in HUMONGO, Trader Joes shopper. I love just about anything trader joes. A few of my ‘regular’ weekly items, are the pb filled pretzels nuggets, their version of pirates booty, their single serve (well the box says 2 but its so only 1) frozen MAC and cheese…which is as good as stoffers which is saying a lot b.c. stoffers mac and Cheese is the bomb, the little clear box of yogurt raisens, and their frozen chocolate molten cakes. Those, those are just a few of my favorite trader joes items. I also love love love how often they have new items. But i HATE HATE HATE when they atop carrying one of my favorite items in order to make room for one of the new items! It’s a double edged sword. Anyhow….love your blog lady! Xxoo

      Shayla @ The Good Life responded:
      December 13, 2011 at 11:16 am

      Lindsay, my lovely!!! How are you? Thank you for stopping by and commenting! We have so much in common girl, it’s too bad we don’t live closer! Although thank goodness for the internet so that we can always keep in touch and stay close friends πŸ™‚

      Ahhh I love that you love TJ’s!! Isn’t it the best ever?! I too hate when they get rid of something I love to make room for the new stuff! And I absolutely adore the peanut butter filled pretzels too – especially the chocolate covered ones πŸ˜‰

      I haven’t tried their mac ‘n cheese (especially since it tastes like Stoffer’s?! yum!), or their chocolate molten cakes…looks like I’ll have to make a pit stop soon! You must get yourself some Cookie Butter – to.die.for. I always look forward to going there – not only for their delicious products but especially for a lil treat at their sample station – it’s the little things I look forward to πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for your support here girl – it means the world to me – you’re an angel and the absolute best, love ya girl πŸ™‚ xoxo

    A Fabulous, Delicious Weekend | The Good Life said:
    December 13, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    […] I mentioned in Friday’s post – my sis, her boyfriend, Todd, and I had big plans to all get together to go out to our […]

    Jacqueline said:
    December 15, 2011 at 10:53 am

    Dude, your so fashionable! I need to follow your blog just for that! πŸ˜‰

    A Very Special Package & A Holiday Survey | The Good Life said:
    December 16, 2011 at 10:23 am

    […] that lil barter I mentioned here about getting the Biscoff Spread and Cookie Butter for the lovely Ashley? I originally thought of […]

    http://www.travelsbookmarks.com said:
    July 17, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a blog site?

    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this
    your broadcast provided bright clear concept

Leave a Reply

